Notre Dame

Proposal for the reconstruction of the Gothic icon

Materials tempered glass / titanium
Price 5/5
Year 2019

Project description

In April 2019, a monument to the history of architecture, a symbol of Paris, Notre Dame Cathedral was tragically damaged. World history is dotted with sorrowful losses of architectural monuments. We believe that Notre Dame, engulfed in fire, having lost its gothic spire and roof, has the opportunity to rise from the ruins akin to a Phoenix, and to take a symbolic first place among the symbols of the "City of Lights".

Our team immediately responded to what happened, as we could not stay away from the events in the heart of Europe.

The idea was to step away from the historical materials and to change the perception of the roof, while maintaining the classic atmosphere of the gothic cathedral in the interior. We have developed a new type of roof for the cathedral, while maintaining historical dimensions and proportions.

Notre Dame
Notre Dame
Notre Dame

Notre Dame will never be the same, but its essence should remain unshakeable, which is why in the restoration project we proposed to keep the spire as it was, using its original dimensions and materials. Within the concept of a modern glass roof, the historic spire acts as a backbone of the cathedral, upon which modern architectural decisions are based.

In our opinion, tinted glass in such an unusual application has two main meanings: the personification of the Divine design in the fate of the legendary cathedral and a step into the future of architecture with its innovative and heavy-duty materials.

Let's talk about your ideas

Notre Dame

Предложение по реконструкции готической иконы

Материалы каленое стекло / титан
Цена 5/5
Год 2019

Описание проекта

В апреле 2019 года трагически пострадал памятник истории архитектуры, символ Парижа, Собор Парижской Богоматери. Мировая история знает огромные утраты памятников архитектуры. Мы считаем, что Notre Dame, охваченный огнем, потерявший готический шпиль и кровлю, имеет возможность восстать из руин, подобно птице Феникс, и занять символическое первое место среди символов «Города огней».

Наша команда немедленно отреагировала на случившееся, так как мы не могли остаться в стороне от происходящего.

Идея заключалась в том, чтобы отойти от исторической кровли и поменять восприятие крыши, сохранив при этом классическую атмосферу готического собора в интерьере. Мы разработали новый вид кровли собора, сохранив при этом исторические габариты и пропорции.

Notre Dame
Notre Dame
Notre Dame

Notre Dame уже никогда не будет прежним, но его суть должна остаться незыблемой, именно поэтому в проекте восстановления мы предложили сохранить шпиль в оригинальных размерах и материалах. В концепции современной стеклянной кровли исторический шпиль выполняет роль исторического хребта собора, на который опираются современные архитектурные решения.

По нашему мнению, тонированное стекло в таком необычном применении несет два основных смысла: олицетворение Божественного замысла в судьбе легендарного собора и шаг в будущее архитектуры с ее точными и сверхпрочными материалами.

Обсудим ваши идеи?